Can A Bird Fly With Only A Right Wing?! Politics and Policy

Popular Posts

Advertisements

How will the Governor’s proposed 2011-2013 budget impact your community?

Below is a list of impact fact sheets for all Wisconsin counties. As new information becomes available, IWF will continue to update these sheets. Budget amendments that were approved during the last week of legislative action are not yet included and won’t be until the veto process is complete and the Legislative Fiscal Bureau analyzes the final document. It appears likely, however, that as a result of those amendments, the cuts to local governments will be approximately 30% less than previously anticipated. Check the date in the footer to see if you have the most recent data (latest updates are in June 2011). If you are looking for facts about your community and the date is prior to June, please email iwf@wisconsinsfuture.org with your request and we will update the information for you.

via 2011-2013 budget impact on counties.

VoterID – Human Costs – Legislature does Community Service NOT

While I waited at DMV to renew my license I was impressed by the speed and efficiency by which the staff proceeded. Check in, get assigned to the right queue, be advised of what you needed, verify that you had it. Get in this place to get your picture taken, wait, get called to get your license, take a vision test, wait, go get your license. My renewal was routine but still took and hour. It took about 10 minutes to get in the door to get checked in at 10am. The picture taking about another 10 minutes. Then the major wait … only 35 minutes to wait to be called (fill out the paper work, write a check while you are waiting) … vision test… paper work in order. Five minutes to get the plastic card.

There were a lot of people there for less routine reasons. One of those was to get a “Voter Id Card”. I watched as an elderly woman in a wheel chair pushed by her elderly companion maneuvered all the feet and narrow walking spaces to the opposite end of the room to get a photograph. I watched as the DMV staff person twisted and turned the wheel chair to get her in to position to take a photograph. I watched as the the staff person rearranged chairs to give her a reasonable place to wait (probably another 40-50 minutes) before she would have an ID.

Some people, perhaps her legislator, knew this woman’s ID all of her life. I wish her legislator had been required as community service to help her get ready to go to DMV this morning, get her into the wheel chair, get her to the car or bus or cab, get the wheel chair a part for transport, arrive at DOT West in Madison, put the wheel chair together and get her into it, get in line and start waiting.

I admire how much this woman wants to vote even though our legislature is willing to spend between $4-$8 million to make it as difficult as possible because she has no ID.

via WI 1848 Forward: VoterID – Human Costs – Legislature does Community Service NOT.

Popular Posts

Although it is preferable to know party affiliation, so you can tailor your message more effectivly,  in the interest of reacting as quickly as possible the following email address collections have been provided of Wisconsin Legislators said to be key to the WiscNet issue.

Please see the following note by Emeritus Professor Tad Pinkerton to make your statement more informed!

Tad Pinkerton: State budget attack on WiscNet a travesty from Madison.com

As a graduate in Computer Science from UW-Madison and knowing Tad, I concur with his statements and want to acknowledge his service to our state.  Please support WiscNet by using these lists to send your message more easily.

Sen.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Jauch@legis.wisconsin.gov,Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Kapanke@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Sen.Hansen@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Cowles@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Hopper@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Sen.Holperin@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Wirch@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Sen.Galloway@legis.wisconsin.gov, Sen.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Sen.Wanggaard@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Rep.Petrowski@legis.wisconsin.gov, Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov,Rep.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov,
Rep.Marklein@legis.wi.gov, Rep.August@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Bewley@legis.wi.gov,Rep.Coggs@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Endsley@legis.wi.gov,  Rep.Farrow@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Hulsey@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Jacque@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Kapenga@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Klenke@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Knilans@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Knudson@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Kooyenga@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Krug@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Kuglitsch@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Larson@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Litjens@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Petryk@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Ringhand@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Rivard@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Severson@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Steineke@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Tranel@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Weininger@legis.wi.gov, Rep.Wynn@legis.wi.gov

Popular Posts

Popular Posts

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: